Bowen Therapy Professional Association (formerly Bowen Therapists' European Register)

What Bowen Therapy may help

What Bowen Helps

Testimonials

Bowen Fact Sheet

Case Studies

How to Train

Bowen For Animals

Corporate Bowen

Bowen Therapy Videos

Bowen videos on YouTube

Tom Bowen Legacy Trust Fund

 

 

The following testimonial(s) have written consent from the owners. Please contact the therapist (if stated) for more information.

Sciatica

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica and one leg longer than the other ¼ inch.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sciatica was painful and unable to wear normal shoes (always build-ups)

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was diagnosed with one leg longer than the other 30 yr’s ago and have had my shoes built up since then. After a few treatments my sciatica was cured. Janet did the pelvic procedures during a normal Bowen treatment after seven treatments we’ve measured my legs and the difference had gone. I no longer have to have my have my shoes built up and I can wear trainers and wedges which I had never been able to wear before.

Client: MS
Therapist: Janet Savage
Ref: 01343-11-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis (right knee), back pain, sciatica

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was walking with an uneven gait because of arthritis in my right knee.  The caused me to suffer from back pain and sciatica.  As I didn’t want to have a knee replacement until retirement I tried Bowen treatment and found that 2 or 3 sessions kept me pain free for up to a year and allowed me keep working.

Client: JC
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01257-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatica, through a slipped disc many years ago.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking and general mobility

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, totally

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I had 3 Bowen treatments and am now fully recovered and very mobile and have been so ever since the treatment 3 years ago.

Client: DG
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01235-07-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sciatic Pain and General muscular pains, especially in the thighs.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Anything involving leg movement – plus sitting and standing was painful.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Since Bowen treatment all movements are much easier and less painful.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Before Bowen treatment I was in constant pain. All other therapies I had tried lasted for a few days and then the pain returned. Sitting standing, lying down and walking were all painful. After Bowen treatment the pain gradually began to ease to the extent that after a few sessions I was able to space out the treatments. The pain has now eased so much that on some days I can hardly believe that I am pain free! I don’t understand how Bowen works – but it does!

Client: PB
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01222-05-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Originally sciatica, since menopause, neck and leg pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Work, rest and play

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Sciatica almost gone – so, Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen has given me pain relief and hope of a life without constant pain. I have regained lost energy, enthusiasm and optimism. More recently problems with painful and flooding periods have been brought back to normal.

Client: SC
Therapist: Hillary Legard
Ref: 01198

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve sacro-iliac area, very painful

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Standing upright and walking properly.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Relief and mobility was almost instantaneous. I have since been having successful treatment for a variety of ailments.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had muscular-skeletal problems intermittently for more than 4 yrs and have tried a variety of therapies whenever I have “stiffened up”, including NHS physiotherapy. I worked as an SRN SCM in hospital around the country, mostly with the elderly in firm before modern lifting equipment became available, my job was very “hands on”, manual lifting was part and parcel of the job. I’ve also been an active person (gym & swim) and never let my disabilities stop me from working. Just wish Bowen treatment had been available when I first started with muscular-skeletal troubles.

Client: MH
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01177-08-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in lower back, hip and pins and needles down leg.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Playing golf, swimming, gardening, walking dogs, sleeping.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I am able to resume all activities but carefully and slowly.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I went in desperation for treatment as I was in a lot of unresolved pain and I didn’t want to restart strong painkillers etc. I am absolutely thrilled that after only two sessions most of the pain has gone. It was a peaceful yet exhilarating experience. I would have no hesitation in having further treatment and will recommend it to anyone in similar circumstances.

Client: HW
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01174-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Severe back problems mainly resulting in sciatica.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I wasn’t able to live life normally e.g. bend, walk, and sleep without pain.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

After I was treated I was again able to do the above normal things.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

On one occasion when I had Bowen treatment for sciatica, after a fall, I was helped enormously. I had been in despair because when I went to the doctor he said that the only thing he could suggest was painkillers. I though “I’ve got this forever”. Anyway after having three treatments from Erica Moss in Oswestry I was gradually able to walk 3-4 miles. It was wonderful to be able to do all th things I used to be able to do before the accident.

Client: GM
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01162-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in lower Buttock

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Prevented me from lifting and playing golf

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have been able to resume these activities fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Since having the Bowen treatment, I have been able to resume all activities, with no pain

Client: JB
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01149-11-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis, bad fall on road resulting in sciatica and bad back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

A lot of my daily task difficult.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Some tasks partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Mobility improved, pain somewhat easier, not going to go away at my age, but with the help and kindness I get from my Bowen therapist I cope.

Client: MM
Therapist: Alison Cowley
Ref: 01123-08-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Symptoms described by GP as Sciatica from left Buttock to left calf

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restricted movement using left hip and leg i.e. Standing on left leg alone

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The sciatica appears to have gone 99% off the hip, occasional twinges in exertion of the left leg in difficult position i.e. in Yoga. The burning sensation in my left calf has gone – this gave a lot of pain whilst driving – using the clutch. Overall- I feel 99% normal again with regards to the sciatica pain and restrictions.

Client: WI
Therapist: Cheryl Cunningham
Ref: 01117-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Spinal injury. Sciatic nerve

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Impaired my mobility, prevented me form living a reasonable active life.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The Bowen Therapy amends treatment to my current needs, which allows me to enjoy a mor normal active live.

Client: JW
Therapist: Catherine Skelton
Ref: 01121-5-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain. Sciatica. Asthma

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Strenuous exercise.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have been able to increase exercise tolerance.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I found the experience relaxing although lying on a couch increases the stiffness in my back immediately after treatment. It did however get rid of the sciatic pain I had been suffering with for several months. Also since having Bowen therapy I have not required my inhaler which I used for Asthma and only required my ventolin inhaler occasionally.

Client: LN
Therapist: Sue Mason
Ref: 01136-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I am a 44 yr old female who has had horses for the last 20+ years. I have had lower back problems for about the last 12 years and neck problems for 4 to 5 years previous to this.

I first experienced sciatic pain in 2005 and was referred to the countess of Chester to see the consultant and have an MRI scan, this showed compression of the vertebrae causing the sciatic nerve to be trapped. This lasted a total of 24 weeks before the pain started to ease during this time I was taking a vast amount of tramadol pain killers just to get through the day.

In 2008 the pain came back even worse this time, once more I was referred to the countess of Chester hospital, where I had another MRI scan. This showed severe nerve damage caused by compressed vertebrae it was decided that I would have surgery to release and try to repair the nerve and to shave of some of the bone which was causing the nerve to become trapped. This went ahead in July 2009 an hour before my op the surgeon dropped the chance of success from 85% to 65% after a further study of the scan. After 3 months recovery all seemed to be going well and I returned to work and riding in the October 2009. All seemed fine until the end of January 2010 when I woke in the middle of the night in more pain than I had ever felt. I went to see my GP who immediately referred me back to the countess of Chester and gave me back all my pain killers and more. At this point I was taking 8 tramadol, 8 paracetomol, 3 gabapentin, 2 naproxen and an anti sickness tablet daily.

I had yet another MRI scan at this point I decided to try Bowen therapy. I had experienced Bowen with one of my horses.

My first session an amazing experience and I remember thinking well if it doesn’t work at least it has sent me somewhere wonderful for 40 mins. After my first session I felt tired and just needed to sleep. I had weekly sessions which lasted approx 40 mins each and it was amazing after the first 3 sessions I was down to half a tablet a day. 3 weeks after my Bowen started I had to go and see the consultant for my MRI results, he couldn’t believe how good I felt and how I had no major pain. He discharged me telling me to continue doing what I was doing. I avoided more surgery.

He did acknowledge that Bowen therapy was one of the therapies which often helped back problems.

I had regular Bowen until Oct 2010 all has been great I have had the odd twinge and I’m not completely pain free but I have the same level of pain that I had on 22 tablets a day, I feel better about myself, I’m able to do more active tasks and I’m in full control of my brain which I wasn’t when on the tablets.

I also suffered mild I.B.S, period pain carpal tunnel and sinus trouble all of these have been helped by Bowen.

Client: JW
Therapist: Claire Harrison
Ref: 00432, Feb. 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


In 2007 I woke one morning to the most excruciating pain in my left leg. My GP and A & E at the hospital prescribed strong painkillers but they barely touched the pain so eventually my GP prescribed morphine. This was helpful short term but unpleasant side effects make me seek help from the Natural Health Centre at Totnes were Bowen Therapy was recommended.

My first session reduced the pain and my need for vast amounts of painkillers.

Subsequent sessions removed my need to walk with a stick and eventually I was off the painkillers completely. The sharp, painful twinges in my left leg had turned to numbness and eventually that vanished too.

Client C
Therapist: Yatro Mackay
Ref: 00450, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I first came to see Austin Burn-Jones about a year ago because I was in pain with sciatica that I had had for several months. The GP didn’t seem to be able to offer me much help. I should also explain that I have a double curvature of the spine (scoliosis). I have had this most of my life, I am now almost 75!

At first I had treatment every two weeks, then the time between visits was gradually extended. At the moment I see him about every six weeks.

His treatment has certainly made a difference. The sciatica has gone completely. I am standing up straighter and also I can now lie flat on my back. No way could I do this before Austin’s work on my back!

Client: Mrs B
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones
Ref: 00408, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had lower back pain and sciatica causing me distress and a great deal of pain. The first treatment I had eased my pain and I was amazed that such a gentle technique had such dramatic results.

Client: DG
Therapist: Donal Campbell
Ref: 01013

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had a trapped sciatic nerve for about 4 months before being recommended to the Bowen treatment. Previously I had physiotherapy, chiropractic and acupuncture treatment with no benefit. First session with Judith, pain eased. 4 weeks later I had no pain. Will be returning for regular session to keep healthy.

Client: EB
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01075, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I first booked an appointment with Judith in order to try to sort out my severe back pain and sciatica. After about six treatments and nine months later I feel 75% better.

Client: MS
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01076, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I was recommended to try the Bowen treatment when I developed sciatica which was extremely painful. After a number of sessions the relief was remarkable. Since then I suffered muscle pain in my right arm, so I decided to try the Bowen treatment again. This was also successful and I would recommend this treatment to anybody, which I have on a number of occasions.

Client: RP
Therapist: Lindsay Evans
Ref: 01077, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have suffered with severe sciatica for the past two years. My GP recommended surgery and drugs. A friend recommended Jo and the Bowen Technique. I have now had three sessions and the relief has been amazing. On a scale of 1-10 where 10 is severe, I have improved from a 9 to a 4. I am hoping that with a few more sessions I will be well enough not to need any surgery. I cannot recommend Jo and her technique enough – absolutely amazing results in such a short time.

Client: NH
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01078-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I suffered with sciatica for several months for which my doctor recommended 'pain-killers'. However, I sought help from the Bowen therapist, and after 4 or 5 sessions the pain disappeared. There was a recurrence some time later and I recalled Mrs Mason (therapist) and after 2 or 3 further sessions I was once again clear and have had no further trouble.

Client: ML
Therapist: Susan Mason
Ref: 01079-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Just over two years ago I started having Bowen treatment as at the time I had sciatica. This was very painful and it made it difficult for me to walk, to socialise and generally enjoy going out. The symptoms seemed to go on for months. My doctor could only offer pain killers. I also tried a TENS machine. For about 30 years I have also had lower back problems – during this time I have been treated by Physio, Chiropractors and Osteopaths. I also tried these with this period of sciatica with no effect. A friend in North London who had severe back problems improved with Bowen Treatment and told me to find a local Bowen therapist. After a few treatments my sciatica was gone. I now have treatment every 5/6 weeks and my back problems have been kept under control. I have never had such a long period with freedom from back problems.

Client: AP
Therapist: Janet Savage
Ref: 01080-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

 

 

Share this page on Facebook:

The Bowen Technique is not intended as a substitute for medical advice or treatment.
We recommend you consult your own doctor about any health concerns you may have.

Bowen Therapy Professional Association