Bowen Therapy Professional Association (formerly Bowen Therapists' European Register)

What Bowen Therapy may help

What Bowen Helps

Testimonials

Bowen Fact Sheet

Case Studies

How to Train

Bowen For Animals

Corporate Bowen

Bowen Therapy Videos

Bowen videos on YouTube

Tom Bowen Legacy Trust Fund

 

 

The following testimonial(s) have written consent from the owners. Please contact the therapist (if stated) for more information.

Knee Pain / Problems

 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knee Pain since a fall 18 months ago.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Kneeling, walking properly, climbing stairs.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully after 1 treatment.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The Bowen technique has made a really big improvement on day to day living, after a fall on my knees 18 months ago.  I am now free of pain and can kneel and walk properly again, as well as running up and down stairs.  Something I had to do by crawling upstairs, also I am sleeping well again due to no pain waking me in the night.  Marvellous.

Client: CF
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01283-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis (right knee), back pain, sciatica

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was walking with an uneven gait because of arthritis in my right knee.  The caused me to suffer from back pain and sciatica.  As I didn’t want to have a knee replacement until retirement I tried Bowen treatment and found that 2 or 3 sessions kept me pain free for up to a year and allowed me keep working.

Client: JC
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01257-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Significant pain in left knee.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking without pain and sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Knee movement returned to normal within two weeks of first session.

Client: AJ
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01247-01-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Aching hips and painful knee

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping and lying and kneeling

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Much better

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I always feel immediate benefits from Bowen therapy.  My body feels more open, aligned and relaxed.  I appreciate being able to talk openly to my therapist and I value her experience in deciding on appropriate treatment.  I have experienced release of emotions through Bowen therapy, which was very beneficial.

Client: CP
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01239-05-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain and stiffness radiating around to abdomen and groin, and pain in right hip and knee.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

From walking normally and sleeping especially pain in right hip and knee.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Since having Bowen I am less stiff and painful.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Since having Bowen treatment I am able to fall asleep without the nagging pain in right hip and knee.  Less tight in lumber and groin area and able to walk better.  Tightness, tenderness and pain in my neck, between shoulder blades and down left arm less pronounced. Able to perform my daily tasks with ease.

Client: GR
Therapist: Erica moss
Ref: 1238-05-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

A knee problem doctor thought was Gout. Had been a problem for 2 years.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving a lot, which was a problem with my job.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

After one treatment the pain had gone. I felt as though I had never had a knee problem.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Since being treated for my knee problem I have returned to Hillary with ankle and arm sprains. My son’s rugby injury, my boyfriends back pain. All successfully cured after one or two treatments.

Client: LP
Therapist: Hillary Legard
Ref: 01199-07-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knee problems, pain & stiffness (sports damage or osteoarthritis combined)

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking fast, climbing stairs normaly, running (without a lot of pain)

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I can now walk, run, climb stairs completely normally and without pain.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I still cannot believe how successful the Bowen treatment has been for me. Because I have been receiving reflexology treatments from Rachael for several years, I was willing to try Bowen, purely based on Rachael and her abilities. I was not disappointed. Within weeks my knees were better, along with many other minor problems, such as shoulder stiffness, arms (pulled muscles), wrist (carpal tunnel) to name a few. Bowen Therapy has completely transformed my quality of life. I recommend Rachael and Bowen therapy to friends whenever possible because I know it works.. I am fitter & healthier than I have been for years.

Client: WS
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh
Ref: 01186-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knee and shoulder pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking without pain and reaching.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Both

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was impressed with the way my therapist assessed my complaints and the treatment was given in a calm, professional way which made me relaxed. I have benefitted so much from the therapy and would recommend anyone to give it a try.

Client: SG
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01173-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Anxiety, knee pain, shoulder/neck pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

They made it more difficult to walk, work as dental therapist.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Symptoms have been minimised or disappeared to date.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

It is possibly early days, but general well being and mobility /R.S.I. work related issues have definitely benefited. I also feel confident and reassured that my Bowen therapist is very well trained and experienced as well as informative and professional. I can and do recommend her.

Client: CC
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01160-11-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

Knee & Back pain

My knee was very painful & restricted many things I had been used to doing including aerobics class, some gardening etc.

Most of the time I have fully resumed all activities, but have the odd “blip”.

I have been amazed at the improvement on my joints, what I can achieve and almost pain free the majority of the time. I can do some things I haven’t done for many years. I cannot believe the vast improvement with 3 sessions. I have had a top up a couple of months down the line to make sure of my freedom to move with ease.

Client: Mrs S
Therapist: Jo Wortley
Ref: 01156-11-11

30th August 2011                        Orthopaedic Department

Thank you for referring this patient whom I saw on behalf of Mr L. Patient has been referred for her right knee problem.

Ms S tells me that she had pain in the right knee over the years but recently this has all improved after she had Bowen treatment.

Pain before this treatment was at night and on walking and furthermore there was giving way.

Patient denies any pain in the groin. She does experience pain, and she points to the lateral side of the pelvis, radiating down to just proximal to the knee. There are no abnormal sensations in the feet.

On examination today right knee is cool and dry. There is full range of movement. There is no pain. No major instability. Normal patella reflexes, weak Achilles reflex left and absent Achilles reflex right. Straight leg raising while sitting with dorsiflexion of foot; no pain. Normal sensation and power in the feet. Hip movements are normal.

X-rays of her right knee from June this year show minimal degenerate changes medial and patella-femoral.

I congratulated patient on the good results of her Bowen treatment and have told her that she is far too good to consider joint replacement surgery.

I have not made a further follow up appointment.

Yours sincerely
Mr R L
Associate Specialist Surgeon in Orthopaedics
Client: Mrs S
Therapist: Jo Wortley
Ref: 01156-11-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Knee injury

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking very far. I could only walk with a stick

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I can walk for a good hour. I still have some knee pain after that.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was fearful before my treatment that as I have disabled parents I was going to be the same. Now I’m walking without the stick. I do have knee problems that will be repaired. I feel Bowen has helped me as a whole and am more positive.

Client: JT
Therapist: Catherine Skelton
Ref: 01125-07-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Left knee damaged in fall some years ago – very helpful

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking great distance – don’t dance anymore etc. or Rambling Club

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Walking much better and all my housework and gardening.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My Bowen therapy is of great benefit. Sometimes my knee is difficult to walk (and sometimes slight limp), but after I have Bowen treatment everything is better. Bowen treatment makes me feel relaxed and feeling of wellbeing – I have treatment nearly every 4-6 weeks.

Client: HS
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01141-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

I had for several years pain and swelling in my right knee exacerbated when taking exercise i.e. walking, golf. I went for treatment to a Bowen therapist who after only one treatment reduced the swelling and after several treatments improved my quality of life enabling me to play 18 holes of golf again. I continued having regular visits every six weeks or so to keep my leg supple and allowing me to lead a full life. After experiencing limited right arm movement and shoulder pain I went to the same Bowen therapist where my arm was released; after several sessions I was able to freely move my arm right across my chest and down my back.

Client: JL
Therapist: A Wood
Ref: 01113-04-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had been having joint pains on and off in my knees and hips since the birth of my second child and was recommended Bowen therapy by a friend who had been successfully treated with this therapy for chronic back pain.

I had three sessions of the treatment and have rarely been troubled since.

I also had Bowen therapy for muscles which had seized up in my back and ribs and which several weeks of pain medication and topical gel had failed to relieve. The Bowen treatment worked wonderfully for this too.

Client: NR-S
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin
Ref: 01042, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


A few years ago I had not heard of Bowen therapy. Then a friend who was having neck problem went to a Bowen therapist for a few weeks and was cured. So when I was diagnosed with arthritis in my hips and knees she recommended having Bowen treatment.

So I have a therapist called Judith who has been great and helped me enormously, not only with the therapy, but other advice for wellbeing. My wife now has treatment for similar problems.

We can’t thank Judith and the Bowen therapy enough. She visits us every month and we always fell better for it.

Client: EG
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01047, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I came for treatment having had pain and restricted movement in my knees and lower back for some time. The pain in left knee had been severe for almost a year.

After the first treatment the pain was much reduced and my movement was freer. I was able to enjoy swimming and waking with my dogs which I had only been able to do very occasionally.

Just before seeking treatment I did start a course of painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs prescribed by my GP, but I believe these alone would not have brought about such improvement.

Client: LA
Therapist: Jo Austin
Ref: 01048, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


My knee had been causing pain whenever I went running; it hurt from the first step I took and I was beginning to think I would have to stop. I mentioned it to by Bowen therapist who was treating me for another stress related problems. She included my knee as part of the treatment.

The pain completely went away after 2-3 sessions and, despite increasing my running, has not returned. In addition to this the other symptoms I had were improved after 3-4 treatments leaving me feeling more relaxed, energetic and able to cope with the things around me that had been causing problems.

Client: DA
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01049, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I fell down three times and did not realise I had hurt my knee. When I tried to kneel on my knees, something gave way and I had excruciating pain and found it very difficult to walk. This happened in November 2009.

I started Bowen treatment in Feb 2010 and this treatment has made a tremendous difference. I had regular weekly treatments which has been so beneficial. I am nearly 100% better now. I have recommended this treatment to many people after my experience.

Client: ND
Therapist: Richard Baverstock
Ref: 01050, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


As a result of a rugby injury I had to have an operation on my knee. After having Anterior Cruciate Ligament reconstruction I received Bowen treatments which greatly accelerated my recovery. In fact I kept in touch with another man who had the exact same operation on the same day as me and his recovery time was far longer than mine.

Since this course of treatment I have also had several others to help with a hamstring problem and this has also been a huge success.

Client: DV
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01051, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had severe knee pain which was diagnosed as torn cartilage. After just one Bowen session I was walking differently, which took the pressure off the injury. The pain was reduced greatly, giving the cartilage time to heal naturally.

I couldn’t believe how it changed my gait so instantly. I would certainly recommend Bowen therapy.

Client: AE
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01052, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


My right knee had caused me problems for many years, especially when weather turned damp. I took painkillers until someone suggested Bowen treatment. I thought I'd try it as nothing else seemed to ease the pain. I had 2 treatments and have not suffered with any pain since. It also appears I have got rid of a verucca on the same side foot which I had tried treating with all sorts of creams etc. to no avail for many years. Neither symptom – knee pain or verucca - have come back. I would recommend trying this treatment as I was so impressed with the outcome.

Client: LP
Therapist: Jennie Walker
Ref: 01111-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

Share this page on Facebook:

The Bowen Technique is not intended as a substitute for medical advice or treatment.
We recommend you consult your own doctor about any health concerns you may have.

Bowen Therapy Professional Association