Bowen Therapy Professional Association (formerly Bowen Therapists' European Register)

What Bowen Therapy may help

What Bowen Helps

Testimonials

Bowen Fact Sheet

Case Studies

How to Train

Bowen For Animals

Corporate Bowen

Bowen Therapy Videos

Bowen videos on YouTube

Tom Bowen Legacy Trust Fund

 

 

The following testimonial(s) have written consent from the owners. Please contact the therapist (if stated) for more information.

Back Pain / Problems

 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back / joint problems.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Lots of things, exercise, being with my kids.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I had physiotherapy for over a year (every 2 weeks) and not better.  Hospital pain clinic recommended Bowen.  Three treatments later and I have my life back.  I have a top up treatment now and again to keep my back in tip-top condition.

Client: KB
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01294-02-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back and shoulder problems.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending and walking any distance.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have been under a pain clinic for 4 years and had facet injections 3 times which helped, but not for any length of time.  Physio did not help.  It was suggested I try Bowen, I had not heared of it. I had 4 treatments and I have been walking much better and not anywhere near as stiff in the mornings.  If I start to feel stiff I know I need a top-up.

Client: CA
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01293-04-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Spinal facet joints, legs.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, domestic activities, driving.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Walking without stick, drive further, use of stairs.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Bowen has not only helped with my movement problems, it has enabled me to reduce medication.  It also makes me feel better in myself.

Client:  SE
Therapist: Linda Moore
Ref: 01292-03-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Injury to lower back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Running, dancing etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes and more.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was a very active person which all changed following an injury to my lower back. After at least 10 years of pills and NHS referrals for physio, TENS machine, acupuncture, facet joint injections, I made an appointment with Mary for a Bowen treatment. Within months this had made such a difference to my back that I signed for a 10 day trek in Borneo, something I would never have contemplated doing.  I since have gone on to do many things and have recently run a half marathon, having been told by doctors I would not be able to run.

Client: VP
Therapist: Mary Ciampini
Ref: 01289-11-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in low back and hip and groin, also shoulders and neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking without stick, standing, house work.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, some fully (walking without stick), some partially.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Generally better on my feet. Mainly less pain than before, but still some from general wear and tear.

Client: BH – female 68
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01287-11-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Chronic back pain and a spinal (neurosurgical) operation.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I found it hard to stand upright and had serious arthritic pain, limiting movement.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

My condition is very much improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was given treatments over 7 sessions, involving body manipulation alternating with relaxation, and set of exercises to undertake in  between the Bowen sessions.  A great amount of time and attention was given to me at each session.  The combination of manipulative treatment separated by periods of rest/relaxation with exercises given to me to perform at home between formal sessions proved helpful in relaxing joints and muscles so that I now stand straighter and move with greater ease and confidence.

Client: MG – male 77
Therapist: Rosalind-Marie Fallon
Ref: 01284-01-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Painful back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Riding my bike, sitting comfortably.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I don’t think this treatment was for me.  Although I felt relaxed I am personally too ticklish to have any sort of treatment on my back.  Not your fault Richie.

Client: EH
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01281-10-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending forwards and backwards.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

No back pain, able to bend either way.  Feeling more supple.

Client: CS
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01280-11-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

A trapped nerve in my back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Unable to sleep, painful to move, turnover in bed and sitting down.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Doing most things more easily, trying to remember I am 75

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The treatment by th therapist was very relaxing and one felt  able to ask about the aftercare and go away with info to look after ones self in a better way than before.

Client: BM
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01270-12-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back and shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Just aggravated

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes without a problem

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The first time I ever had a Bowen treatment was the first time in years that I didn’t have any aches in my back and shoulder.  Bliss.  Bowen is so un-invasive it is a pleasure to have, unlike massage.  Sometimes it takes a couple of days to fully kick in.  Worth a go, it might work for your too.

Client: LM
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01268-10-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking and exercise

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

This treatment really helps to keep me supple and reduces the pain factor.

Client: AS
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01267-10-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back ache and stress

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Very relaxing and therapeutic, back problem much better, will be going again.

Client: KW
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01266-10-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

I’d fallen down a stair and had hit my upper back on the stair above.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Turning, bending and breathing easily

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had Bowen therapy on a number of occasions over the years, to various part of the body. (usually after a fall), and have always found the technique helpful.  I immediately felt much better and slowly over the next few weeks got over the fall completly.

Client: JF
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01264-10-13

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis (right knee), back pain, sciatica

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was walking with an uneven gait because of arthritis in my right knee.  The caused me to suffer from back pain and sciatica.  As I didn’t want to have a knee replacement until retirement I tried Bowen treatment and found that 2 or 3 sessions kept me pain free for up to a year and allowed me keep working.

Client: JC
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01257-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower and upper back pain, neck and shoulder pain (scoliosis)

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Spending more than a couple of hours on my feet.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yea, my symptoms have reduced dramatically.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My experience of Bowen therapy has been very positive.  The sessions themselves are very relaxing and since having the treatment my symptoms have reduced dramatically – before Bowen I was very aware of my scoliosis because of the symptoms I had, but now I find I’m not even thinking about it – because they’re not there!

Client: SJ
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01255-08-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Sharp pain and ache in forearm, elbow and hand.  Pain in shoulder and aching lower back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Using trowel and digging with spade/fork.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully resumed.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Has cured (with one treatment each) gardening related aches and pains in arm, elbow, hand and shoulder.  Is easing (with on-going treatments) lower back pain.

Client: AO
Therapist: Barbara Firman
Ref: 01253-09-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

At worst – unable to move / bed confined – with carer.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – gradually both, although initial pain relief immediate on first visit.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Since attending Claire my recovery was instant.  I first entered her clinic in much pain and only with the help of my husband who was caring for me.  I was unable to have treatment on the couch due to my immobility and discomfort.  Claire’s care has firstly, instantly ceased the constant pain and through subsequent 3 treatments brought me back to full functioning.  Happy bunny!!  Very happy – Thank you.

Client: AL
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01251-08-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain, shoulder pain, Achilles tendon.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, sleeping, unable to work.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Shoulder and back fully, Achilles ongoing.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had many alternative treatments, but feel Bowen to be the most beneficial.  My lower back pain has gone, as has my shoulder problems.  Bowen also helps you relax and recharge your body.  Makes me feel great!

Client: DB
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01250-09-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Neck, right shoulder, lower back and right hip – all due to car crash

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Living a normal life, walking, sitting, sleeping, everyday tasks i.e. ironing, hovering, hanging out washing, etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Waling and sitting are back to normal, the rest have improved.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Prior to starting this treatment I was taking so many painkillers that I felt doped up all of the time and I was still in a significant amount of pain.  Now I’ve reduced my medication by 90% and I am almost pain free.  I have no pain in my neck, lower back, right shoulder and right hip most of the time and I feel that I am getting my life back.  If I feel I’m in pain I make another appointment.

Client: DS
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01249-05-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Been able to resume work

Client: BS
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01248-05-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain.  Numb feet at times.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sleeping and sitting comfortably.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, my sleep has improved – I was wakening with the pain.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I am no longer suffering from lower back ache and feel so much better.  My feet belong to me again.

Client: DC
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01244-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Various including tennis elbow, ankle pain, weak pelvic floor muscles and back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Pain on exercising and stress incontinence.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have benefitted greatly from the Bowen treatment.  I can’t praise it enough!  My pelvic floor muscles are brilliant now, can cough or sneeze strenuously without fear of any leaks.  Back pain gone, even when bending over for a period such as when cleaning the bath.  Ankle and elbow greatly improved.  All joints feel like new!

Client: BE
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01242-04-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad back

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working and golf

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The treatment I have received has enabled me to get back to work as a joiner/builder and also to be able to play and enjoy my golf.

Client: PO
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01237-06-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Trapped nerve in back, 2nd episode in 6 months.  Have osteoarthritis.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Pain unbearable, could hardly function, worried re- strong painkillers.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Pain in back gone, can now walk and bend, painkillers stopped.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Pleasure to be treated as a whole person, unrushed, listened to worries and full explanation given, helped emotionally and bodily without pressure.  Treatment, time, given well worth fee.  I would recommend Bowen Therapy every time.  Thank you Erica, you deserve far more recognition for your Bowen therapy. So glad my daughter found you for me.

Client: AJ
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01234

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Foot pain, back pain and hay fever.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking my dog with friends.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Regular treatments keep my problems at bay.  Hay fever is much improved – it would usually start early in February/March, but is now end April and I have no symptoms.  Bowen just makes me feel better generally.

Client: PC
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01232-04-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Uncomfortable to work

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Two treatments brought good results.

Client: DC
Therapist: Sally Mason
Ref: 01225-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Symptoms didn’t stop me from doing anything, but it made simple tasks very uncomfortable to do.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, since treatment I am fully functional.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I was very sceptical if treatment would work for me. But after the course of three treatments as recommended my back pain is a thing of the past, and I would certainly go back.

Client: AW
Therapist: Sally Mason
Ref: 01224-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Worried it might prevent me teaching dancing

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

After many years of lower back problems I was worried about not being able to cope with taking a 2nd line dance class. Being an ex-professional dancer fitness is most important to me. However, after 3 sessions with and excellent practitioner I am now free of pain and have confidently embarked on my second class.

Client: DO
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01215-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain, tension in shoulders and neck.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Restrictive movement or painful movement especially golfing.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully, able to play 3 or 4 times per week without discomfort.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have been pleasantly surprised at how the non-invasive, gentle and relaxing treatment can produce a great improvement to my physical and mental well-being. I feel more comfortable and relaxed. Tension in my upper back has disappeared.

Client: DM
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01214-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Not Sleeping properly and getting out of the car was painful

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

For the last 4 years I have had interrupted sleep doe to the back pain when turning over in bed. Since the Bowen therapy I can now sleep through the whole night uninterrupted. I can also now get out of my car pain free and don’t even think about it.

Client: AH
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01213-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Playing tennis comfortably

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes. Found the treatment loosened up my muscles and gave me the relief I required.

Client: KC
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01211-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back and Hip problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sporting activities

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Having Bowen has allowed me to run 4 marathon’s and my body has always been a lot better having treatment. I would recommend it to anyone.

Client: NG
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01208-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pains

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sports and general activities as was in pain

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, Bowen treatment sorted the problem

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

On the evening after the treatment I did not feel good in myself and just went to bed. The next day I felt 100% and all back pain was gone. I have since not had any problems and not need treatment, however, should I need I would contact Richie.

Client: JD
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01205-01-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back and Frozen shoulder

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Nothing specific – occasional sharp pain on certain random movements

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

N/A

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, when symptoms start to show I have 1 or 2 sessions which immediately relieve the problem every time.

Client: LD
Therapist: Richie McCurdy
Ref: 01204-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Mucking out stables, sitting at a desk for longer than 5 minutes.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – Fully. Can sit at desk for 30 min periods and muck out and bend back.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Unaware of any back pain, and now muck out stables comfortably and able to bend and lift. Sitting at computer or in a chair was very uncomfortable, causing me to shift around constantly, but now I don’t notice and discomfort sitting, which is very important as I work at a computer up to 8 hours a day on average. I have regular top up treatments every month and I’m amazed and delighted how Bowen has changed my life. Even getting out of bed every morning was a painful struggle, as was turning over in bed. Now I can get a night’s sleep.

Client: SH
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01201-04-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Shoulder and back ache.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Working to best of my ability.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My headaches have virtually disappeared and my back ache has gone. The shoulder aches and knots are no longer the problem they were. A great improvement and would recommend it to anyone.

Client: HR
Therapist: Merle Davies
Ref: 01200-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Difficulty at work, playing with the children at home.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Almost fully.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My back has defiantly shown improvement since having Bowen therapy. Not only is it beneficial for my back, it is also a pleasant and relaxing experience.

Client: HS
Therapist: Hillary Legard
Ref: 01195-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back and hip pain related to previous child birth issues.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking pain free, moving with ease.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – It was immediate.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Straight away I could walk pain free and the tension had gone. This is a symptom that reoccurs for me and Bowen never fails to rid me of pain. I am amazed by how quickly this happens.

Client: KM
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01188-02-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lumbar region of back

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Straightening my back, twisting, bending down to pick up stuff from floor level.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully, still doing my leg exercises every day for 5 minutes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My sister told me of the therapy, so I looked on the internet, I wanted a more subtle approach to my back. It’s worth a go and I’m glad I went. Only negative thing I could find was that the person in charge leaves or goes out of the room.

Client: RB
Therapist: Rachael Cavanagh
Ref: 01184-2-12

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back complaint

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, lifting, exercise, housework.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Yes, I have benefitted hugely. Not only with my back, but it has also helped my hayfever & my sleeping pattern. I am now able to sleep better, waking feeling refreshed.

Client: PC
Therapist: Lindsay Hanson
Ref: 01179-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Most things that involve lifting.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes – just about fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Having struggled for longer than I can remember and having other types of therapy, I thought Back Pain was something I would have to get use to. Not the case now. Bowen was suggested to me by a work mate. It had worked for him, so I thought it was worth a go...best thing I did. I’ve had approx. 6 sessions with each one becoming further away (time scale) than the last. The difference is huge. So much more confidence in doing day to day things. I would highly recommend the therapy and also the lady who practices on me.

Client: BW
Therapist: Kim Holmes
Ref: 01176-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lumbar (back) ache and pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

First thing in the morning it was difficult to stand up straight.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My whole body has a greater sense of freedom of movement. My energy flow has increased considerably. My overall health and well being is much more balanced and harmonise. The treatment has been a great success.

Client: JOJ
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01171-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad back and painful shoulders.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving (working – I’m a truck driver). Golfing

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

My back feels stronger – less or no aching and I feel more confident doing activities that stretch my back and shoulders. I was also great to have a reason behind why my back is painful to begin with – more important than any prescription from a GP.

Client: JW
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01170-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Long term lower back problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Prevented me from walking any distance, cycling and runnig.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Early stages, taking care, but ready to start long mountain walks and mountain biking

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

No back pain or stiffness. Regained freedom of movement. Generally feeling a lot better. Will get back on my bike this week, thanks to Bowen Therapy and an excellent therapist.

Client: DW
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01164-09-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Walking, driving, working and sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

After the first treatment I was able to do more of the things listed above easier which then gradually got better. A week later and after the 2nd treatment I was able to go back to work and resume normal activities and definitely would use it again.

Client: GJ
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01163-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower backache

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

I had great difficulty in dressing, walking and doing many normal daily activities.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

I had some immediate relief after my first treatment, and gradually am resuming full normal daily activities.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have suffered from osteoarthritis for many years and have had successful hip and knee replacements which have relieved much of the pain. However my cumber spine causes me severe backache a couple of times a year. About 4 years ago I discovered Bowen therapy and found such rapid relief which pain killers did not achieve that now, at the first sign of trouble I immediately make an appointment before the pain becomes unbearable. I recommend this treatment to friends and strangers alike.

Client: BA
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01161-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back stiffness, right hip pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Sitting for long periods, general flexibility.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Back feels more relaxed

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Erica is incredibly professional, knowledgeable and with a wealth of practical information and advice. I felt very comfortable at all times.

Client: DL
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01159-11-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Virtually all normal activities, e.g. Housework, Gardening etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, Fully recovered

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have had many different treatments on my back but Bowen is the only method that has ever worked. I would not consider any other treatment. It’s truly amazing.

Client: MS
Therapist: Erica Moss
Ref: 01158-12-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad back, sore neck & shoulders

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Prior to treatment I was unable to walk upright due to my back injury

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

After just one session my back was fully mobile again – it felt like a miracle!

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

As stated I was unable to walk any distance or stand straight due to a bad back, after Bowen treatment I was walking correctly and with no pain. I felt as if a miracle had happened and especially as it had such a positive result after only one session. As for my neck and shoulders I do not feel the treatment has given any benefit – but I must add that is was my back that was the priority and had the most time spent.

Client: SD
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01152-10-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Standing and walking long distances.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

The problem had been with me for some years. After 2-3 Bowen treatments the symptoms are completely gone. That was two years ago.

Client: SM
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01147-08-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

1. Frozen Shoulder – 2. Back Problems

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

1. Anything involving right shoulder movement
2. Most normal activites.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes, fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

On both occasions the treatment with appropriate exercises appeared to resolve the problems completely. I have made recommendation to acquaintances who appear to have had equally successful treatments.

Client: DS
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01121-08-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Arthritis, bad fall on road resulting in sciatica and bad back.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

A lot of my daily task difficult.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Some tasks partially

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Mobility improved, pain somewhat easier, not going to go away at my age, but with the help and kindness I get from my Bowen therapist I cope.

Client: MM
Therapist: Alison Cowley
Ref: 01123-08-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Playing golf and other sports

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I received a number of sessions with the Bowen therapist and found the therapy very beneficial. It gave me a good insight into b problem and how to exercise and give support to my back.

Client: JB
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01126-07-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Constant severe throbbing lower back pain suffered for over 5 years

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Normal daily activities, lying on back, sleeping, standing for any length of time

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Completely resumed & more

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have my life back! After living with severe lower back pain for over 5 years, I now live a normal life and do all my own housework, gardening, etc. and the consequent depression has lifted. I was living like an invalid, but Bowen truly enabled me to live a pain-free, fulfilling lifestyle.

Client: HS
Therapist: Maxine Crinall
Ref: 01155-07-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Pain in neck, shoulder and lower back

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Enjoying life. Some aspects of work

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Thankfully, since having Bowen Therapy I get very little pain. I an able to move more freely and enjoy life more. Bowen Therapy has helped me more than any other treatment I have tried over a 30 year period.

Client: JF
Therapist: Catherine Skelton
Ref: 01115-07-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Extreme pain lower back

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Driving and functioning properly

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

All of my aches and pains are reduced drastically.

Client: CL
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01118-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain and stiffness.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Playing 5-a-side/gardening/general mobility

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

All resumed fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have suffered lower back pain/stiffness periodically for the last five years.

Since attending regular Bowen therapy sessions the symptoms have disappeared. I have increased my awareness of the causes of mu discomfort and have learned new methods to help prevent their reoccurrence.

Client: DS
Therapist: Tony Crimes
Ref: 01135

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Back and shoulder pain.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Attending classes at the local gym. Continually aching arm etc.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I have improved dramatically since I received the Bowen treatment. I have no pain or symptom. In addition, my mood has improved and I feel much better generally.

Client: RA
Therapist: Freda Hodgson
Ref: 01137-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Most bending, gardening, driving, standing, sitting, sleeping

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Partially, ongoing to fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Throughout I felt relaxed and confident with the treatment. As the sessions decreased the pain did also. I felt able to manage the amount of tasks I did and know when to stop. I do know now when to stop e.g. gardening! I am able to increase my daily exercises and my sleeping patterns have improved. I have my life back.

Client: BB
Therapist: Merel Davies
Ref: 01154-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Bad back, neck problems, facial numbness.

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending, sleeping comfortably, (back of head) headaches.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Back no problem as long as occasional treatment given. Head not a problem, no headaches.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I feel that I walk straighter. Far less tension in neck. Sideways movements feel much easier and garden without worrying about my back.

Client: WT
Therapist: Lindsay Hanson
Ref: 01145-06-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Bending and restricted movements

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Yes

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

Pain has gone in a week after the treatment. Freedom of movement with back.

Client: DK
Therapist: Cheryl Cunningham
Ref: 01124-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Lower back pain. Sciatica. Asthma

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Strenuous exercise.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Have been able to increase exercise tolerance.

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

I found the experience relaxing although lying on a couch increases the stiffness in my back immediately after treatment. It did however get rid of the sciatic pain I had been suffering with for several months. Also since having Bowen therapy I have not required my inhaler which I used for Asthma and only required my ventolin inhaler occasionally.

Client: LN
Therapist: Sue Mason
Ref: 01136-05-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

What complaint or symptoms brought you for a Bowen treatment?

Asthma and Back Pain

What did your symptoms prevent you from doing?

Persistent chest infections and inability to walk very far.

Have you been able to resume doing them partially / fully since having Bowen treatment?

Fully

Testimonial of my Bowen Therapy experience. (How have you benefited from your Bowen treatment?)

For years I have suffered from asthma and every winter would catch a cold which resulted ina chest infection which I could not shake off. One year I had to take 12 weeks off work. Since having a single session of Bowen with the ‘asthma move’ I have so far had four winters with no chest problems at all. I have to say, this, coupled with the freedom to be able to walk again, has completely changed my life. Thank you so much to Bowen Therapy.

Client: NC
Therapist: Pamela de Charmont-Rambert
Ref: 01116-04-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


My symptoms were chronic arthritis. I had been suffering with my back for many years and it got worse. I have it all over now and I can’t take painkillers so eventually my GP sent me to the pain clinic in Darlington Hospital where I was first introduced to Bowen Therapy. I find it good, but I was not getting enough treatments and I decided to go private. It has made a great difference to my life. I get at least two months without pain, which is great, and I would recommend it to everyone.

Client: BL
Therapist: Linda Lawrence
Ref: 01045, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Before I went to Bowen I was in pain every day. My back was so sore I couldn't sit for any length of time. When I'd done my housework I had to go and lie down until the pain eased. Sometimes the pain in my neck was unbearable. After having treatment my pains eased and my muscles were freer, my neck no longer bothered me and I could work without pain. Whenever I feel the tightness and pain returning I go for a top up with my therapist and that keeps me right. The bonus for me is being pain free and not relying on more medication.

Client: KS
Therapist: Donal Campbell
Ref: 01086-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I am a builder and own my own company which is still in the early years of establishing. I have sacralisation of L5 – but also degeneration of L3-L4 which pinches a nerve, which sends my lower half into spasm. I have been in horrendous pain and discomfort and the only treatment that has enabled me to carry on working and manual labour is my monthly Bowen, without which would be disastrous for my small company.

Client: SB
Therapist: Samantha Roze
Ref: 01087-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had been suffering from back pain for twelve years following a fall and all medical treatment during that time provided only short-term relief before the pain returned with increasing regularity and severity. Bowen was recommended to me and I noticed a great reduction in this pain following just one treatment. After a total of four treatments over a period of a few weeks the pain was completely gone and back pain is no longer an issue in my life. I was amazed that these problems were resolved so quickly and my only regret is that I did not find out about Bowen much sooner than I did.

Client: JR
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin
Ref: 01088-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have had ongoing back, knee and hip problems for some years and treatments have not usually been successful. I was sceptical at first when I heard about a new technique, but felt it would be worthwhile giving it a try. Fiona consulted with me to determine all the areas where I had got used to nagging aches and pains and from the first treatment I could immediately feel a release of tension and just from a therapeutic perspective the pain relief and increase in mobility has been outstanding.

Client: PA
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref:01089-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


After receiving no relief from a painful back problem from treatment by a Chiropractor, I was recommended by a friend to try a Bowen practitioner. The first treatment restored my mobility and tasks I found painful were no longer an issue. After several treatments I was free from pain and able to go about my normal life without the limitations that had made everyday tasks almost impossible. I have since taken my elderly mother for a treatment on her back and both of us are now in good health.

Client: VB
Therapist: Sue Creaton
Ref: 01090-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


The first time I received Bowen I was working as a cleaner. Due to continuously being up and down and lifting heavy objects I suffered from lower back pain. The therapist treated me on the move as I carried out my duties. I was very surprised to discover that almost immediately the pain had gone. Thankfully to this day 4½ years later it hasn't recurred with the same ferocity as before and a little Bowen sends it packing again.

Personally I would and have recommended Bowen for most aches and pains.

Client: MA
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin
Ref: 01091-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Having put my back muscles into spasm, I had to crawl out of bed on all fours. After my first treatment I got out of bed normally the next morning. After the second treatment I was able to return to work and after the third treatment I was able to run a 10k event without pain.

Client: MC
Therapist: Fiona Peel
Ref: 01092-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Working in the Fire Service in 1993 I seriously damaged a disc in my lower back. In 2000 I injured this disc again – in fact it burst. I had sought pain relief for nearly 15 years (Chiropractor, Osteopaths etc) when I was recommended to try the Bowen Technique. I visited Jen Walker and after a few treatments the symptoms of my lower back improved – I wish I had seen Jen after my accident in 1993.

Client: SS
Therapist: Jen Walker
Ref: 01093-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have suffered with back problems for most of my life and manage it most of the time, but occasionally it completely renders me unable to move. I have usually sought chiropractic treatment which has helped greatly. On the last occasion I was unable to get my usual treatment and so sought the help of Claire and she offered the Bowen treatment. I was amazed at the speed that I got relief from the pain and in only 3 treatments I was pain free and moving normally again. I have not had a reoccurrence of the problem so far, but would not hesitate to see Claire again for the Bowen Therapy.

Client: MF Therapist:
Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01094-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


From teenage years I have had lower back problems due to being a golf caddy too young. I had spent a fortune over the years on physio, osteopathy and chiropractic to no long term effect. It must be said I am not a believer in alternative medicine, but at 32 yrs, after 2 or three treatments with Janie my back had never felt stronger. If further occurrences of back pain happened, they usually rectified themselves within a day or two. Any severe pain would be sorted by further treatments. Janie has recommended a 3 monthly top up schedule which suits my needs as a fire-fighter, runner, cyclist and very busy father of 4 year old triplet boys. Invariably, any back problems I have now are usually due to unavoidable bad manual handling techniques, but Bowen has changed my life.

Client: NE
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01096-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


In mid-February 2011 I started having discomfort in my lower back (left side of spine base). Having had disc problems in the past I assumed that this was the cause and consulted Cathy Vivian. She commenced Bowen therapy, but the problem was exhibiting different symptoms from previous years. I was experiencing numbness around left hip and top of thigh, together with very intense nerve pain at the hip and into the groin. It was diagnosed as a stressed/strained sacroiliac joint and further Bowen treatment is currently on-going and working well. I am no longer taking anti-inflammatories or painkillers, the groin pain is largely gone and I anticipate complete recovery.

Client: AL
Therapist: Cathy Vivian
Ref: 01097-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


The pain in my back was so bad, I was twisted to the side, every movement was agony. After just 1 treatment I was straight and pain free. I have recommended Bowen to family and friends who have also benefited.

Client: FB
Therapist: Hilary Campbell-Martin
Ref: 01099-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have always suffered with a bad back and received physiotherapy and treatment from a osteopath in the past. My back pain, however, still troubled me. After a severe strain whilst horse riding I visited Janie for Bowen, the pain eased dramatically after the first visit. I received a second treatment which allowed me to ride in a five day show jumping competition. The third visit gave me a pain free back.

Client: SD
Therapist: Janie Godfrey
Ref: 01100-03-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have curvature of the spine (scoliosis) and was told nothing could be done other than pain killers. Then I heard of Bowen therapy from Australia – found Cathy and the therapy and rest is history - they keep me well and comfortable – Thank you.

Client: MS
Therapist: Cathy Vivian
Ref: 01101-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I was in chronic pain with my back for many months, living on pain killers. I was up every night in agony, becoming quite depressed, thinking that this was to be a lifetime affliction. Someone recommended the Bowen method (which I had not previously heard of). Due to the treatment from Marilyn Lawrence, I rarely take pain killers and sleep well. I cannot thank Marilyn enough, I feel that I have finally got my life back. It is certainly a miracle.

Client: WB
Therapist: Marilyn Lawrence
Ref: 01102-03-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I first went for Bowen treatment following painful spasms in the base of my spine. After the first treatment I felt much better and with a second treatment a week later the pain was practically gone. I have had no more problems with my back since, but have continued with regular 3 monthly Bowen treatments. My general health has improved and I feel more relaxed. The tension headaches that I used to suffer from have more or less gone.

Client: PD
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01103-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had been suffering from severe back pain due to a subluxation, on and off for a few years. I had tried Chiropractic, which worked for a while but then the pains returned. I had also been suffering from problems with a feeling of pressure in my head, which also made hearing distorted and created a buzzing noise in my ears. This I had suffered for a few months. After one Bowen treatment, the head and ear problems disappeared and there was an improvement in my back symptoms. After further treatments, the back pain became very little, even going weeks without pain and feeling looser and thus giving me more energy. I do currently have to repeat the treatment every 5 weeks (only for the Back problem), but compared with previous Chiropractic treatment (between 3 times a week and then every two weeks), the results are much better.

Client: LC
Therapist: Lindsay Hanson
Ref: 01109-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I came for treatment having had pain and restricted movement in my knees and lower back for some time. The pain in my left knee had been severe for almost a year. After the first treatment the pain was much reduced and my movement was much freer. I was able to enjoy swimming and walking with my dogs which I had only been able to do very occasionally. Just before seeking treatment I did start a course of painkillers and anti–inflammatory drugs prescribed by my doctor, but I believe these alone would not have brought about such improvement.

Client: LA
Therapist: Jo Austen
Ref: 01110-02-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I tried Bowen therapy when I was struggling to recover from a hysterectomy, a complicated knee injury, and back problems. I had begun to despair of ever being able to exercise properly again, let alone regaining full fitness – and I was only 44 years old. I had a big reaction to the first treatment and could hardly walk up stairs the following day, but over the next few days and weeks I saw a gradual improvement. Some weeks later I was back in the gym and after a few months I was fit again. I still go for maintenance treatments every eight weeks because I enjoy the support and understanding of my Bowen therapist and I know Bowen therapy helps me to stay fit and well.

Client: HK
Therapist: Claire Phillipson
Ref: 01112-03-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have seen Cathy for help with several different problems with my back, my hips, my knees and my shoulders, and her treatments have been enormously beneficial. I have had the Bowen therapy and I'm always surprised by the profound changes that happen after what seems to be the most gentle treatment. I find a lot of manipulative techniques much too strong for me and tend to react badly to them with more inflammation, stiffness and pain than before. With Cathy’s treatment, however, problems seem to be resolved powerfully by gently. I’d recommend Cathy to anybody as she is an incredibly skilled practitioner and also a very caring and professional therapist.

Client: AT
Therapist: Cathy Vivian
Ref: 01113-04-11

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

After an accident which resulted in having two surgeries on hip and upper leg I came to have Bowen sessions to help relieve the pain I’d been experiencing in these areas as well as my lower back. At my first session I had a high level of pain and tension in my back. This was reduced considerably by the end of that time. After the second session this pain had disappeared completely. I am continuing to have sessions to see if an improvement can be made to my leg also. I am very happy with the progress so far.

Client: SB
Therapist: Yatro Mackay
Ref: 01027, March 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have experienced lower and upper back pain for more than 10 years that at times prevented me from even being able to sit. I had tried many treatments with varying degrees of success. For the last 4 years I have had almost weekly treatments with a cranial osteopath which certainly improved things, but I still felt unable to manage my own body and symptoms without intervention. I was hesitant when my osteopath was away in case I had a flare up, plus my bank balance was taking a hit. I am grateful that somebody suggested I try Bowen Therapy. In just 8 weeks, during which I had 6 treatments, I now feel pain free. I cannot tell you how it works, but I can assure you for me it has been a great success. Moving forward my current plan is to book a monthly session jus to keep everything in check, but you never know even that may not be necessary, only time will tell. Client: AA Therapist: Lindsay Evens Ref: 01010, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have had chronic lower back pain problems (L4/L5 compression) since my mid-teens, but had become much more painful about 5 years ago. Each day was a struggle to deal with the pain (sciatica and numbness). I am a programmer so I sit all day and this makes matters worse. I had seen numerous doctors and tried a few treatments such as physical therapy and spinal decompression, without seeing any reliable improvement. I then tried branching out to alternative treatments. After my first Bowen appointment my pain had decreased by over 90%. For the first day in years I woke up without pain. I no longer needed daily pain medication and, while I still need to be watchful, I can now function significantly easier. Not only has Bowen improved my physical symptoms, but being pain free had a huge impact in my mental health and attitude. I continue to have monthly/6-weekly Bowen treatments to keep things in check. After about 4-5 weeks my back starts aching a little and I know it’s time to have Bowen again. After each appointment I continue to experience a loss in pain and increased flexibility.

Client: DW
Therapist: Lindsay Evans
Ref: 01011, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


After suffering with back pain and neck pain for some months I tried a Bowen treatment. The frst session greatly reduced the pain and my movement was very much improved. I was amazed at how quickly it had an effect.

Client: HT
Therapist: Lindsay Evans
Ref: 01012

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I was suffering major lower back and hip pain and was further troubled with Achilles tendon and shin splint difficulties which made me decide to give up my martial arts activities. After a couple of visits to Donal all the pain left and I was able to start my training again with confidence. The Bowen technique has really impressed me with its non-invasive methodology and its remarkable results.

Client: BG
Therapist: Donal Campbell
Ref: 01029, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I had lower back pain and sciatica causing me distress and a great deal of pain. The first treatment I had eased my pain and I was amazed that such a gentle technique had such dramatic results.

Client: DG
Therapist: Donal Campbell
Ref: 01013

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


The first time I came to see Rosemary I’d had two weeks off work with a bad back. As a Health Care Assistant I do a lot of heavy lifting. It got so bad at work that I could hardly move and they had to send me home. Rosemary recommended Bowen treatment and I couldn’t believe the difference. It was heaven, I had no back pain straight after the treatment and I thought it was a miracle.

It’s a treatment I would recommend to anyone. Coming from a night shift to a Bowen treatment is just so relaxing, it’s too untrue to describe. I feel like I’m on a cloud. Touch wood, I haven’t had a back ache like that again. I’ve got so much going on in my life and coming to have my treatment just makes me forget about everything and everyone. I’m so happy I feel 100% better.

Client: TF
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham
Ref: 00452, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Chronic neck and lower back pain

I have been aware of Bowen for many years but it was not until I met Catherine that I actually experienced it. I am a massage therapist and have had many, many different kinds of treatments over the 27 years I have been working. Bowen was totally different, very simple and very effective.

At first it was odd that Catherine only seemed to do a very small technique on me and then leave the room, to return a few minutes later to do another small technique. This process goes on for the full hour. What I came to realize and very much appreciate was that the healing happens in my own body when the therapist is not in the room - unlike any other treatment I have received. Once I got used to this idea I totally loved it. Something very profound happens and my body is able to correct, balance and heal in the way it needs to. It is unbelievably relaxing – so deep as to feel like coming home, like having had 10 hours sleep, like feeling totally supported and held in a way that is perfect just for me.

I came to Catherine with chronic neck and lower back pain. Within three session the neck pain has totally gone and my lower back pain (which I have had for 30 odd years) very rarely troubles me now. I would highly recommend Catherine and Bowen to anyone with pain or exhaustion.

Therapist: Catherine Ford
Ref: 00400, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Lower Back Pain

In Catherine, you will find a dedicated, experienced and caring Bowen Practitioner. Catherine has extensive knowledge of the Bowen Technique. She has helped me in the past with lower back pain, which was greatly diminished after a couple of treatments. It is a shame that she's in London and I am in California!!

Client: SA
Therapist: Catherine Ford
Ref: 00402, Jan 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


At the age of 49 I had been suffering from back pain for a number of years - and by the time I went to see Clare it had become extremely painful and uncomfortable. I was at my wits end - unable to stand for any length of time, unable to sit comfortably, but even worse I was unable to sleep - waking every time I moved. Which all proved to be exhausting, debilitating and extremely frustrating.

I was referred to a physiotherapist by my doctor - but after 6-8 weeks treatment there was no improvement. So I was referred to a back specialist and had an MRI scan - but apart from the usual wear tear there was no obvious damage that warranted an operation. So I had the choice - grin and bear it or take pain killing tablets.

A friend had been treated with a similar back problem using Bowen therapy and swore that it would help my symptoms. So I looked up Clare, booked an appointment and I can honestly say I have never looked back since.

If I'm absolutely honest I did not have much faith that Bowen would be the answer. I was of the mindset that my back needed manipulating back into position which would involve cracking and crunching of bones and limbs! Bowen is nothing like this! It is best described as using gentle hand movement to realign the body - reminding it where to correct itself resulting in a self healing technique. It has to be experienced to be believed.

In my first session Clare went back into my history trying to establish how my back pain may have come about. She then used her skills to gently align my body concentrating on my neck, back and legs. Apart from feeling incredibly relaxed during the session I did not feel any different. That night Clare suggested I soak for 20 mins (minimum) in an alkaline bath (bicarb/salt) - which I did. I then had the best nights sleep that I can EVER remember! In the morning I felt completely refreshed, focused and raring to go. My back felt a bit better - but the fact that I had not woken during the night like I had for months/years previously was amazing.

As the week progressed I felt so much better in myself realising that I had probably been semi-depressed and more stressed out with work than I was prepared to admit. I felt I had been given a new lease of life. My back had improved a lot and after the next 2 sessions it continued to get better. I was able to stand, sit and sleep again with no pain or discomfort - it was such an incredible relief! Added to which I felt rejuvenated in mind and spirit! I couldn't believe the difference!

I now visit Clare every 5-6 months for a top-up session which I really look forward to. They definitely help to keep any discomfort in my back in tow - but also help me to relax and focus the mind!

Bowen is superb therapy for mind and body! I would recommend Bowen (and Clare) to anyone who is suffering from any pain, stress or even depression.

Client: EH
Therapist: Clare Handforth
Ref:00423, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Back Pain / Sports injury

I am 15 years old and I had bad pains in my back every time I played football or any type of training. So I told my coach who was a good friend of Clare’s and she told me to give her treatment a go and see how it works out.

I went for my first appointment with Clare and she told me I was doing too much fitness training in a week which wasn’t good. So she changed my whole timetable on fitness and I did less.

She also did the Bowen Therapy on my body which has helped sort the problems out with my back massively. My back no longer hurts and my football is coming along massively. If it wasn’t for Clare I’d still be in pain, it's amazing!

Thanks Clare My back NEVER hurts and you made me realise that I was doing too much!

Client: SG
Therapist: Clare Handforth
Ref:00427, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Lower Back Pain, Frozen shoulder

As Bowen has cured 25 years of Back Pain and subsequently dealt with a Frozen Shoulder, it is high time I said “thank you”.

I have to confess that when I first came to see Austin I was sceptical. The Back Pain, from playing cricket and rugby as a young man, was something others had tried to cure and that I had grown accustomed to.

The process of analysis Austin took me through surprised me, as he successfully diagnosed the seat of former sports injuries, just by looking at my posture and movement.

The process of manipulation and subsequent cure was much gentler than I had expected, although at each session I felt very aware that my body had changed.

The process of discovering that cure had happened was both pleasant and surprising. Firstly my golf improved and some weeks after having Bowen Therapy it slowly dawned on me that I had no pain. I still have no pain some two years after back manipulation, and 6 months after treatment for Frozen Shoulder.

I have also recommended Austin to my friends, family, clients and colleagues. He has surprised them just as pleasantly and successfully.

Client: Mr P
Therapist: Austin Burn-Jones
Ref: 00407, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Lower back and neck problems

I am a 44 yr old female who has had horses for the last 20+ years. I have had lower back problems for about the last 12 years and neck problems for 4 to 5 years previous to this.

I first experienced sciatic pain in 2005 and was referred to the countess of Chester to see the consultant and have an MRI scan, this showed compression of the vertebrae causing the sciatic nerve to be trapped. This lasted a total of 24 weeks before the pain started to ease during this time I was taking a vast amount of tramadol pain killers just to get through the day.

In 2008 the pain came back even worse this time, once more I was referred to the countess of Chester hospital, where I had another MRI scan. This showed severe nerve damage caused by compressed vertebrae it was decided that I would have surgery to release and try to repair the nerve and to shave of some of the bone which was causing the nerve to become trapped. This went ahead in July 2009 an hour before my op the surgeon dropped the chance of success from 85% to 65% after a further study of the scan. After 3 months recovery all seemed to be going well and I returned to work and riding in the October 2009. All seemed fine until the end of January 2010 when I woke in the middle of the night in more pain than I had ever felt. I went to see my GP who immediately referred me back to the countess of Chester and gave me back all my pain killers and more. At this point I was taking 8 tramadol, 8 paracetomol, 3 gabapentin, 2 naproxen and an anti sickness tablet daily.

I had yet another MRI scan at this point I decided to try Bowen therapy. I had experienced Bowen with one of my horses.

My first session an amazing experience and I remember thinking well if it doesn’t work at least it has sent me somewhere wonderful for 40 mins. After my first session I felt tired and just needed to sleep. I had weekly sessions which lasted approx 40 mins each and it was amazing after the first 3 sessions I was down to half a tablet a day. 3 weeks after my Bowen started I had to go and see the consultant for my MRI results, he couldn’t believe how good I felt and how I had no major pain. He discharged me telling me to continue doing what I was doing. I avoided more surgery.

He did acknowledge that Bowen therapy was one of the therapies which often helped back problems.

I had regular Bowen until Oct 2010 all has been great I have had the odd twinge and I’m not completely pain free but I have the same level of pain that I had on 22 tablets a day, I feel better about myself, I’m able to do more active tasks and I’m in full control of my brain which I wasn’t when on the tablets.

I also suffered mild I.B.S, period pain carpal tunnel and sinus trouble all of these have been helped by Bowen.

Client: JW
Therapist: Claire Harrison
Ref: 00432, Feb. 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Post-operative care

After an accident which resulted in having two surgeries on my hip and upper leg I came to have Bowen sessions to help relieve the pain I'd been experiencing in these areas as well as my lower back. At my first session I had a high level of pain and tension in my back. This was reduced considerably by the end of that time. After the second session this pain had disappeared completely. I am continuing to have sessions to see if an improvement can be made to my leg also.

Client: S
Therapist: Yatro Mackay
Ref: 00449, Feb. 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


 

I was diagnosed with a slipped disc. After the first Bowen treatment I felt the difference, and an improvement in my back and leg pain. I feel fantastic and my leg is getting stronger daily. I would wholeheartedly recommend Bowen to anyone as it has made a huge difference to my life.

Client: PW
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01007, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


My lower back pain started about 10 years ago, it got progressively worse and the pain spread to my left hip as well. Having tried everything from painkillers, physiotherapy, chiropractors and osteopaths I was sceptical about Bowen. Within 3 treatments the pain was very much reduced and I was not waking in the night with my back "locked". I have a maintenance treatment every 4/5 weeks and the back pain is kept at bay.

Client: JP
Therapist: Judith Watson
Ref: 01008, Feb 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


For many years I have suffered with a back problem having been diagnosed with sub-acute degeneration of the spinal cord. Over the past few years the pain has become increasingly debilitating leaving me on high doses of painkillers and spending several hours a day in bed. I can honestly say that I was at an all time low. Then I was referred to the Bowen Technique. My back was extremely tender and so I was reluctant to let anyone touch me. However, the therapist was very reassuring and out of desperation, I decided to give it a go. To my relief, the treatment was very gentle and the warm soothing feeling eased the pain. Now, a few months later, there are dramatic improvements: the severe pain had diminished and the medication has been greatly reduced. My back fells stronger, I am considerably more mobile and I am growing in confidence daily. The Bowen Technique definitely works and I am very grateful for the help and support I received to enable me to regain my independence.

Client: AH
Therapist: Michael Watson
Ref: 01009, Jan 2011

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Back pain and Arm pain

Congratulations! Two miracles performed!

We joked six weeks ago about a miracle being performed, when I turned up for Bowen treatment for my right arm.

You firstly helped by curing a severe back problem, which had dogged me for years prior to our first meeting in 1994. I have gone through since, with only the occasional twinge since your treatment.

Now secondly, after a disastrous blood pressure prescription, which seized up my muscles and left my right arm in real trouble, you performed another Bowen treatment on me, to get my arm back in to working order again.

My sincere thanks to you, it is comforting to know that you are there to help, when help is needed most! I have recommend the Bowen treatment to all those whom I have met, who suffered as I once did!

My thanks once again!

Client: Fred R, aged 70
Therapist: John Clarke
Ref: T3, Dec. 2010

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Upper Back Pain Testimonial

I would like to thank you for the treatment you gave to my daughter Lisa. As discussed at our initial interview, Lisa has been in pain for the last two years and sleeping has been a big problem. Although she has undergone two MRI scans for her back problem, visited several consultants including a bout of acupuncture, no one was able to give her any relief or get to the heart of her problem. 

I was utterly amazed that after just one session of treatment of the Bowen technique of which, I will be honest, I was slightly sceptical of, Lisa that night slept for the first time through the night and has had no recurring back problem and she is almost back to her old self. Lisa has now had her second session and we will await and see over the coming weeks if just after two sessions you have achieved what several eminent doctors and consultants failed to find.
 
Many thanks once again on behalf of my daughter Lisa and a grateful father.

Client: Lisa, 25 year old woman
Therapist: Mark Lange
Ref: T18

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


I have been a convert to Bowen therapy for over ten years. The overall healing effect, not just on the specific areas being treated, but on my general health and wellbeing is unparallel and I have recommended the treatment to a number of fellow sufferers. I originally was treated for lower back problems (for which I receive regular maintenance therapy on an ongoing basis), but over the years Bowen has been used on many other parts of me, including elbows, knees, hips, sinuses, jaw.

The results, especially the rapid release from pain, are verging on miraculous.

Client: AF
Therapist: Cathy Vivian
Ref: 01037, May 2010

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Severe Back Pain

I was experiencing severe pain with my back but through Rosemary's techniques I am almost pain free, just the odd twinge now and again. She is a hands on therapist and fully understands her subject matter. She is also very empathetic is a good listener and is a calming influence when you really feel stressed. She is someone I would use again and again when the need arises.

Client: SP
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham
Ref: 00444, Jul 2008

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page


Bowen for Back Pain and Tennis Elbow

Thank you so much for the Bowen treatment. It really has helped me so much. My back which was extremely painful is almost pain free a lot of the time. Also my elbow is so much better. It has also helped my mental outlook as I now wake up feeling much more positive and raring to go. Thank you again, life is so much better.


Client: CC
Therapist: Rosemary Cunningham
Ref: 00445, Sept 2004

Back to About Bowen page Return to About Bowen page

 

 

 

Share this page on Facebook:

The Bowen Technique is not intended as a substitute for medical advice or treatment.
We recommend you consult your own doctor about any health concerns you may have.

Bowen Therapy Professional Association